The visitor guide on Isle of Easdale in Argyll, provide you with information on and around the place, including accommodatuion and hotels in Isle of Easdale.
Easdale is separated from Seil by a 500-yd-wide channel which has to be dredged to keep it open. The island, only 800 yds by 700 yds, was the centre of the slate industry and the old dilapidated workers' cottages can still be seen, lending an air of melancholy to the place. There was once a population of over 450 here, but the quarries were flooded during a great storm in 1881 and the industry collapsed. The present population numbers around 50. The old quarries can still be seen, filled with water, with the derelict work buildings standing forlorn as the surrounding vegetation takes over.
The fascinating history of the island is explained at the folk museum near the main square in the village. Apr-Oct daily 1030-1730. Tel. 300370.
There are no roads on the island, which only takes about half an hour to walk around. There's a tearoom by the pier and some of the old cottages have been modernized and turned into self-catering accommodation (details from the Tourist Information Centre in Oban)