Historical Figures http://www.scotland.org.uk/table/history-of-scotland/scottish-historical-figures/ Wed, 01 Jul 2015 16:00:23 +0000 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb sysadmin@helpmego.to (J25 Template) Alexander Grant - founder of National Library of Scotland http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/alexander-grant http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/alexander-grant
  • Name  : Grant
  • Born  : 1864
  • Died  : 1937
  • Category  : Other
  • Finest Moment : Helping the formation of the National Library of Scotland, 1925
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 10:57:36 +0000
    Alexander Selkirk http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/alexander-selkirk http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/alexander-selkirk
  • Name  : Selkirk
  • Born  : 1676
  • Died  : 1721
  • Category  : Other
  • Finest Moment : Sighting the ship which rescued him
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 10:57:37 +0000
    Charles Edward Stewart Young Pretender http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/charles-edward http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/charles-edward
  • Name  : Stewart
  • Born  : 1720
  • Died  : 1788
  • Category  : Famous Historical Figures
  • Finest Moment : Battle of Prestonpans, 21 September 1745
  • Resources - The Story of Bonnie Prince Charlie
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 10:59:00 +0000
    Devorguilla Balliol http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/devorguilla-balliol http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/devorguilla-balliol
  • Name  : Balliol
  • Born  : c.1209
  • Died  : 1290
  • Category  : Famous Historical Figures
  • Finest Moment : Foundation of Balliol College, Oxford
  • 'She was buried with her husband's heart at Sweetheart Abbey'

    ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 10:59:31 +0000
    Flora MacDonald http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/flora-macdonald http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/flora-macdonald
  • Name  : MacDonald
  • Born  : 1722
  • Died  : 1790
  • Category  : Famous Historical Figures
  • Finest Moment : Passing the Young Pretender off as an Irish maid
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 11:01:01 +0000
    George Heriot http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/george-heriot http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/george-heriot
  • Name  : Heriot
  • Born  : 1563
  • Died  : 1624
  • Category  : Other
  • Finest Moment : Counting the silver of James VI
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 11:01:25 +0000
    Henry Stewart Darnley http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/henry-stewart http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/henry-stewart
  • Name  : Darnley
  • Born  : 1545
  • Died  : 1567
  • Category  : Famous Historical Figures
  • Finest Moment : Marriage to Mary, Queen of Scots (1565)
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 11:02:19 +0000
    Hugh Montgomerie http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/hugh-montgomerie http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/hugh-montgomerie
  • Name  : Montgomerie, 12th Earl of Eglinton
  • Born  : 1739
  • Died  : 1818
  • Category  : Famous Historical Figures
  • Finest Moment : Building Eglinton Castle.
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 11:02:57 +0000
    James Douglas http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/james-douglas http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/james-douglas
  • Name  : Douglas
  • Born  : c.1286
  • Died  : 1330
  • Category  : Famous Historical Figures
  • Finest Moment : Left Forward at Bannockburn, June 1314. Scotland 1: England 0
  • ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 11:03:21 +0000
    James Edward Stewart Old Pretender http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/james-edward http://www.scotland.org.uk/scottish-historical-figures/james-edward
  • Name  : Stewart
  • Born  : 1688
  • Died  : 1766
  • Category  : Famous Historical Figures
  • Finest Moment : Some good fighting in the French Army, 1708-9
  • He mounted the first Jacobite rebellion in 1715, and fathered 'Bonnie Prince Charlie'.

    ]]>
    customer-service@helpmego.to (Site Editor) Scottish Historical Figures Tue, 09 Feb 2010 11:03:21 +0000