North Queensferry is situated at the foot of the Forth Rail Bridge, North Queensferry was originally the northern terminal of the ferry established by Queen Margaret to carry pilgrims to Dunfermline. It remained a ferry terminal until the road bridge was opened in 1964.
North Queensferry is home to a yacht marina and provides the ideal vantage point from which to wonder at the fantastic engineering feat of the Forth Rail Bridge.
Phone code: +44 (0)1383
Deep Sea World
Also here is the popular Deep Sea World, Scotland's award-winning national aquarium, which boasts the world's largest underwater viewing tunnel, through which you pass on a moving walkway, coming face-to-face with sharks, conger eels and all manner of strange sea creatures. There is also a display of species from the Amazon rainforest. Apr-Oct daily 1000-1800; July/Aug 1000-1830; Nov-Mar daily 1100-1700. Tel. 411880.
The desolate shipbreakers yards at Inverkeithing, a stone's throw from North Queensferry, give no hint that this is one of the oldest Royal Burghs in Scotland. Granted a charter by King William the Lion around 1165, Inverkeithing was for centuries a place of trade and commerce with a small harbour and local coal workings. Born in the town in 1735 was Samuel Greig, often described as the founder of the Russian Navy. The son of a local shipmaster, he initially had a career in the British Navy, but following secondment to Russia he organized the Russian fleet for Catherine the Great, for which he received a knighthood.
Five miles east of the Forth bridges, on the A921, is Aberdour. The castle at the southern end of the main street, was built by the Douglas family on lands originally granted to Thomas Randolph, Earl of Moray, by King Robert the Bruce in 1325. The 14th-century tower is the oldest part of the castle, the other buildings having been added in the 16th and 17th centuries, including the unusual Dovecote (pronounced doocot) and the attractive walled garden.
Nearby is St Fillan's Church, which is part Norman, part 16th century. The church has a peaceful, timeless quality which entices the visitor to linger in quiet contemplation. Note the leper-squint in the west wall, formerly used by sufferers who were not allowed to worship within the church. Castle open Apr-Sep daily 0930-1800; Oct-Mar Mon-Wed & Sat 0930-1600, Thu 0930-1200, Sun 1400-1600.
North Queensferry Hotels & Accommodation
On the north side of the Forth Road Bridge is the Queensferry Lodge Hotel, Tel. 410000, Fax. 419708, home of the Forth Bridges Exhibition which tells the story of the bridges through models, artefacts and a 40-min video (daily 0900-2100, free). The hotel is also home to the Forth Valley Tourist Information Centre, Tel. 417759, and offers comfortable accommodation in 77 en suite rooms with great views of the Forth and a restaurant.
In Aberdour are Aberdour Hotel, High St, Tel. 860325, Fax. 860808, 16 en suite rooms, restaurant, andHawkcraig House Hawkcraig Point, Tel. 860335. Excellent B&B run by Mrs Barrie, 2 en suite rooms, price includes dinner.
Also the Woodside Hotel which has some unusual stained glass panels with a nautical theme. Late Rooms Availability for Woodside Hotel in Aberdour